A Social Science Approach to Development Research: Development Theory, Practice and Research Methods (ZEFa)

Course Coordinator: Dr. Girma Kelboro

The Disciplinary Course Program of ZEFa (see course plan below) offers eight weeks of modular training courses:

1) Development Theory and Practice
2) Quantitative Methods
3) Qualitative Research Methods
4) Research Colloquiums
5) Research Practicum
6) Excusions to NGOs & government offices
7) Reading Time
8) Research Proposal Writing

The module 8) "Research Proposal Writing" is taught together with the batch fellows from ZEFc in the second week. Seminars of Module 1 are scheduled over the entire first half of the disciplinary program (weeks 1 through week 5) and introduce a range of development theories and theoretical approaches repeatedly applied in our research projects. The course provides an intense training component of quantitative methods (week 4, jointly with ZEFc) and qualitative methods (weeks 6-7). In parallel, the students are offered an insight into German and European development cooperation practice in one seminar and by visiting at least two state and non-state development cooperation organizations. Additionally, the students participate in a weekend seminar 'Intercultural Training'. Here, special emphasis is given to aspects of intercultural communication in Germany, the research projects and project teams as well as the research countries.


The course ends with a written examination on 10 February 2017.

Additional compulsory programme:
ZEF Research Colloquium, Thrursday 13:30-15:00
ZEFa Research Colloquium, Wednesday 13:30-14:30

Time frame:
 5 December 2016 - 10 February 2017
Download: The ZEFa course plan 2016/17  (last update 11/11/2016)

The lecturers involved in the ZEFa course (ZEF staff members):
Prof. Dr. Eva Youkhana, Dr. Till Stellmacher, Dr. Girma Kelboro, Dr. Irit Eguavoen, Dr. Wolfram Laube, Ms. Katrin Gleisberg, Dr. Henning Sommer, Mr. Christian Petersheim, Mr. Volker Merx, Dr. Claus Hansen, Dr. Siwei Zoe Tan

External lecturer: Prof. Dr. Conrad Schetter (Bonn International Conversation Center (BICC)), Ms. Johanna Rapp (Robert Bosch Stiftung GmbH), Prof. Dr. Uwe Holtz (honorary professor, Institute for Political Science and Sociology, University of Bonn), Dr. Guido Lüchters, Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Hornidge (Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology (ZMT) & University of Bremen, Institute of Sociology), Dr. Rapti Siriwardane-de-Zoysa (Development and Knowledge Sociology, Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology, University of Bremen)