UNESCO Chair in Human-Water Systems, University of Bonn. Profile and activities

May 18, 2021 | 19:00 h - 20:30 h

The Bonn Water Network cordially invites you to join a virtual event on the presentation of the first UNESCO Chair in Human-Water Systems which was recently established at the Institute of Geography, University of Bonn, on Tuesday, May 18, 2021, 5:00- 6:30 pm (CEST).

Please register via zoom here:


Background: UNESCO Chair in Human-Water Systems

A key challenge for sustainable water management and thus sustainable development as a whole is the complexity of human-water-systems. Inter- and transdisciplinary approaches and the targeted processing of research results are central for a better understanding and sustainable implementation of knowledge. This is where the new UNESCO Chair in Human-Water-Systems wants to contribute.
The UNESCO chair is headed by Prof. Dr. Mariele Evers. Her team emphasizes research on human-water-systems, hydrological risks and uncertainty, eco-hydrology and inter- and transdisciplinary methods with a geographical focus in Europe, South East Asia, West- and East Africa.

With the establishment of this Chair in Bonn, 14 UNESCO Chairs in Germany now contribute to the implementation of the Global Sustainability Agenda. In the global network of UNESCO Chairs, over 750 Chairs in more than 110 countries cooperate to anchor UNESCO's goals in science and education. They distinguish themselves through outstanding research and teaching in UNESCO's fields of work. The principles of their work include international networking, especially in the North-South collaboration and the promotion of intercultural dialogue. UNESCO Chairs contribute worldwide to creating, disseminating and applying knowledge to promote sustainable development.

Program: download here.

During the event, participants will learn about the UNESCO family in general and the profile and planned activities of UNESCO Chair in Human-Water-Systems.

Contact for questions regarding content of this event:
Prof. Dr. Mariele Evers: mariele.evers@uni-bonn.de Dr. Linda Taft (Institute of Geography, University of Bonn): ltaft@uni-bonn.de
Speaker of the network: Annabelle Houdret (DIE): Annabelle.houdret@die-gdi.de and co-spokesperson: Luna Bharati (IWMI): L.bharati@CGIAR.ORG